top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenna Kärkkäinen

First day at work

We had to go to work in day after we arrived in Tokyo. I was pretty tired but excited about this opportunity. In morning me and Emma did go to near 7-eleven to buy breakfast. I got tuna mayonnaise onigiri and some orange latte. Then we ate outside in front of our apartment.


So we got to go to company called “Worker Bee Inc.” It’s not a game company but it localizes games for Japanese market. Their office is in Ichigaya and it wasn’t really far away of our apartment. Only three stops with the train.


We found that place pretty easily but we arrived too early. They weren’t expecting us before 1 pm and we arrived at 11 am. But it was okay. Mr. Ogawa started to tell us about this company and our schedule.


I was a little bit nervous because I can’t understand Japanese but I worried for nothing. Mr. Ogawa speaks good English and he also uses Google Translate. So I mostly understood what he were saying.


There is 9 of us who are in this company doing the internship. Seven of us are from Finland and two are from Sweden. We were told that we have to make a mobile game for the Google Indie Game festival. I never have created any games so I’m a little outsider of this project. I have only done some 3D projects but only using one program (3ds Max).




In the evening me, Emma, Lija, Daniel and Samu did go to Harajuku. We needed to buy a mug and slippers for workplace. We walked there because it wasn’t very far away. There were many people but not as many that I have saw in videos. We found “Daiso” and did go there. Daiso is like 100 yen store, but there were also products that cost more. If the product didn’t have a price tag, it was 100 yen. There I bought two small towels and slippers. I also bought a bubble tea from the street stall.



Me and Emma decided to go to Shibuya because there was store that sell electronic devices. I had a problem that my adapter was too small for my laptop charger so I couldn’t charge it. We took train from Harajuku to Shibuya. There was so many people!


The shop wasn’t very far away from the Shibuya station. It had many floors but the aisles were small. I found the adapter and Emma bought a hair straightener and a hairdryer. Then we did go back to Harajuku and walked to our apartment.


I tested the adapter in my room and I was disappointed. My laptop charger didn’t fit. So I couldn’t use my laptop in Sakura House.


 

日本


東京に着いた翌日に仕事に行かなければなりませんでした。 私はかなり疲れていましたが、この機会に興奮していました。 朝、私とエマは朝食を買うためにセブンイレブンに行きました。 マグロのマヨネーズおにぎりとオレンジのラテをいただきました。それからアパートの前で外で食べました。


そこで、「Worker Bee Inc.」という会社に行きました。ゲーム会社ではありませんが、日本市場向けにゲームをローカライズしています。彼らのオフィスは市ヶ谷にあります。私たちのアパートからそれほど遠くはありませんでした。 電車でわずか三駅。


その場所はかなり簡単に見つかりましたが、到着が早すぎました。彼らは午後一時前に私たちを期待していませんでした 。午前十一時に到着しました。しかし、それは大丈夫でした。小川氏はこの会社と私たちのスケジュールについて話し始めました。


日本語がわからないので少し緊張しました。でも心配することはありませんでした。小川さんは英語が上手です。また、Google翻訳も使用しています。私は彼が言っていたことを理解しています 。


この会社でインターンシップをしているのは9人です。私たちの7人はフィンランド出身です。2人はスウェーデン出身です。Google Indie Game festivalのモバイルゲームを作成する必要があると言われました。私はゲームを作ったことがないので、このプロジェクトのちょっとした部外者です。3Dプロジェクトのみを行った。1つのプログラム(3ds Max)のみを使用します。


昼休みに、私たちは皆、日本食レストランに行きました。それは職場に近いので、遠くまで歩く必要はありませんでした。スタッフは日本語のみを話しました。小川さんが一緒にいたので、注文を手伝ってくれました。何を食べたのかわかりませんが、とても美味しかったです!同時に、カロとマルタと話をしました。彼らはスウェーデンから来ました。彼らはとてもいいようです。


夕方、私、エマ、リハ、ダニエル、サムは原宿に行きました。職場用にマグカップとスリッパを買う必要がありました。それほど遠くないので、そこを歩きました。人が多かった。「だいそ」を見つけてそこに行きました。ダイソーは100円ショップです。しかし、他の価格もあります。商品に値札がなければ、100円でした。そこで私は2つの小さなタオルとスリッパを買いました。屋台からバブルティーも買いました。


私とエマは渋谷に行くことにしました。電子機器を販売する店があったからです。アダプタがラップトップ充電器には小さすぎるという問題がありました。充電できませんでした。原宿から渋谷まで電車に乗りました。たくさんの人がいました!


ショップは渋谷駅からそれほど遠くありませんでした。それは多くの床を持っていたが、通路は小さかった。アダプターを買いました。エマはストレートヘアアイロンとヘアドライヤーを買いました。それから原宿に戻り、アパートまで歩いた。


部屋でアダプターをテストしたが、がっかりした。私のラップトップ充電器は適合しませんでした。それで、私はサクラハウスで私のラップトップを使うことができませんでした。


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page